UNDER THE SPOTLIGHT | Ether Feels

10446075_668125973268409_8409048841391566528_o

Ether Feels are an epic shoegazing outfit from Osaka, Japan. The band are made up of vocal & guitars – TOMO, bass & chorus by YOKO & drums by KITA-KUN. They released the stunning ‘Twilight Dreams’ EP back in July 2014 & more recently appeared on the epic (now re-issued via Raphalite Records) shoegazing compilation ‘Revolution – The Shoegaze Revival’. We caught up with the band & asked them a few questions about influences, shoegazing & future plans. Check it out below:

1) Who are you? Tell us about your band and how you originally came together?
We are Ether Feels. Originally I liked making songs so I made two albums in 2010 and 2011. They are “Ether Feels” & the mini album “Raindrop Sparkle”. They were released on Amazon Japan. Next I wanted to play music LIVE. I was looking for band members on the Internet. Fortunately I met up with great band members & our live story started in 2012. From 2012  we have been playing concerts and have performed at some high level festivals such as the Japan Shoegazer Festival Osaka and Kyoto Shoegazer Festival.

 

2) Who are your biggest influences? 
Kevin Shields & Kurt Cobain. I think!

3) Describe your sound?
Fusion with the 90’s shoegaze music and Japanese pop music (J-POP).

11268032_854139178000420_390585052660271627_o

4) What inspired you to start making music?
Mainly Japanese manga & animation  – Hayao Miyazaki, Fujiko Fujio, Puella Magi Madoka Magica, Evangelion and so on.

5) What do you love about shoegaze?
Loud noise and beautiful melody.

 

6) Is it a Shoegaze revival or a rebirth? What do you think about the recent film ‘Beautiful Noise’ & the reunions of the great 90’s shoegazer bands?  
I think amazing, really great things.  Especially I want to see music concerts of Ride and Slowdive but honestly when I was made some songs first time I did not know about shoegaze music. The sound was included in noisy, dreamy & many chorus. My friend who listened to these songs taught me that the sound is shogaze. The feeling does not change now so I believe that I have my own music & I will walk my way.

7) Can you tell us about your involvement in the Revolution shoegaze compilation?
I met with Matthew (Muso Planet -web magazine, Muso Asia on DKFM) at Japan shoegazer festival & other live events before. He is very kind to me.
so, he taught me about this compilation.

 

8) Why is it important for the world to hear your music? What kind of message would you like to share with international listeners?
If I don’t have listener, I do not make music.  Maybe I think?  So I have always thanks to the our music listener & I wish to listen my band’s music to many people from all over the world. This great compilation album “REVOLUTION – The Shoegaze Revival” was released via Raphalite Records & Gerpfast Collective Records.  I am very happy to be able to participate in this compilation album.

 

9) What are some of your favorite bands or albums? 

Some of my favorite albums – The Beach Boys / Pet Sounds,  Judee Sill / Judee Sill, Virginia Astley / Hope In A Darkened Heart & Teenage Fanclub / Bandwagonesque

Some of favorite bands (artists) –  Ride, My Bloody Valentine, Nirvana, Wannadies, Daniel Jhonston, Elliott Smith, David Sylvian, Sayonara Ponytail, Flannel, Boyfriend’s Dead, For Tracy Hyde, Post Modern Team, Me In Grasshopper and so on …..

11080350_825232510891087_5643723155804255185_o

10) Musically, what are your bands plans over the next year?
Make a new album(ep). We want to play LIVE in many places & new band member will come, maybe?  haha.

11) Can you name some bands from your country or elsewhere as recommended listening?
Japanese Artists – Juvenile Juvenile, NAISHO, AOQ.
Indonesia Artists – Funny Little Dream & Lazysofia.

12) If you had the chance to cover any artist who would it be, what song and why?
Daniel Johnston / Casper The Friendly Ghost – Because this song have simple chords and ultra catchy melody & casper is very kawaii.

13) If you had to pick 1 or 2 or 3 words to describe your music, what would they be?
Noisy Powerful Band Sounds, Little Magical Melodies,  Japan’s  4 seasons and its landscape.

14) What inspired you to write “Morning Star”? 

One day when I was taking a stroll in the park at daybreak I saw shiny stars in the sky. It was so beautiful. It inspired me to find the melody for this song and the idea of this guitar sound.

 

LINKS:

twitter.com/etherfeels

facebook.com/pages/Ether-Feels/131749390239406

etherfeels.bandcamp.com

raphaliterecords.bandcamp.com

gerpfastkolektif.bandcamp.com

Leave a Reply

