Canadian-Ukrainian duo Ummagma have confirmed details for the UK release of their EP ‘Frequency’. This mini-album will be available through Raphalite Records and is slated for release on November 13th. Alongside five original tracks, the EP features remixes from Cocteau Twins legend Robin Guthrie, Wales’ celebrated Lights That Change, and Malcolm Holmes of Orchestral Maneouvres in the Dark (OMD). ‘Frequency’ follows the band’s two debut LPs ‘Antigravity’ and ‘Ummagma’, which were simultaneously released in 2012.


This release represents a slight departure from the first two albums, which whisked the listener through the romanticism of first meetings, big love, adventures abroad and optimistic dreaming through to the realities of birth, loss, death and departure. In contrast, ‘Frequency’ explores such themes as space and distance, timelessness, escapism, and the search for tranquility.

‘Orion’ is the first track to be released from ‘Frequency’ & it is available to download alongside ‘Lama’ immediately when you pre-order the EP right now from UMMAGMA’s own bandcamp page. The accompanying video to the ‘Orion’ single release is simply stunning. Check it out below:

‘Orion’ is a slice of beautifully intense but tranquil ethereal dream pop with a  shimmering, pulsating layer of golden edged & imaginative production intertwined with the beautiful vocal arrangement of Shauna McLarnon. It’s peaceful tones will have you floating in suspended animation. A truly magnificent track.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s